SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Newbie with DSLR and unguided scope

daniyyel

Hi guys!

I recently bought a 450D and last night I tested it on M42. And the results were awful! Why I'm saying that ? Well ....if I set exposure over 1.6 sec, I start to see star trails... I know it's a normal thing for an unguided telescope, but after 1.6 sec ? I saw on this forum, some decent pictures of galaxies and other DSO nebulas with exposures of 30s and unguided telescope. How did they do it ? Any help would be really appreciated!

P.S I own a Sky-Watcher 150/750 and no, I didn't use a barlow along with my camera. Just the camera connected directly to the focuser with no extension tube/nose!

The photo is a single frame 1.6s, iso800 and already starting to see star trails.

post-30848-0-10367400-1419176356_thumb.j

total beginner myself but that would be about right with a telescope wouldnt it? depending on the focal length, I have a 300mm lens which i divide by 600 equals 2 so 2 secs maximum with that, a 20 mm lens  would be divided by 600 equals 30 secs , as I said though I am a total beginner sure someone will come along and explain

What mount do you have?

Is it motorised?

Unless you have a motor for the RA axis and a good polar alignment you will always get star trails.

TSED70Q, iOptron Smart EQ pro, ASI-120MM, Finepix S5 pro.

I suspect you have mixed the term "unguided" and "tracked".

With out tracking I would say that 1-2 seconds is likely to be the best with what amounts to a 750mm lens on the camera (your scope).

You need an equitorial mount with RA+Dec motors (preferably goto) and a polar scope, then carefully align the mount then take an image with the mount tracking the object, then you should get 30-60 seconds out of it, depending on the accuracy of the polar alignment.