SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Tips on Nebulae and Galaxys - larger scope or filters

Jazzmatazz

Hi to you all!!!!

I've been gazing since august on a AStromaster 130-650 newt using a Meade 5000 24mm for DSO (I only own 2 other EPs, wich are very, very dark can barely see M31(!!!!))!

Anyway, when it comes to clusters, it's been no problem to see, but I always struggle with Nebulae and Galaxys, M31 is no problem, but, the triangle galaxy, still cant see it, and im sure about its location, since my search method and my guide software on ipad (skySafary Pro) have worked in the past!

I've reduced light pollution near me and been observing towards the zenith as to reduce the influence of heat coming out of other houses and observing over street lamps. 

I should add that allthough im not experienced with a lot of EPs, I find the Meade 5000 24mm really brigh. 

So i'm thinking either i need to go for a new larger scope, or its somewhat a contrast problem? does that make sense?

so my question is, is it worth it to buy some filters for a rather weak scope? or with a larger aperture and no filter would my life be easier with DSO??

Thank you guys!

• Replies 29
  • Created
  • Last Reply

M33 is not that easy, eventhough dark skies make it a great sight. I would try M81, M82 as they show well, finding them in your 24mm and then switching to a 10mm-12mm eyepiece should help. NGC 7331 may also be worth a try.

As many will say, dark skies are needed to see a lot of DSO's well, regardless of aperture.

Ensure that your eyes are dark adapted. This may take up to 20 minutes. Use an eyepatch and a dull red torch if you have to look at charts etc. Under reasonable skies 130mm will show you the brightest dso's as Gerry has indicated above.