SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Please help!!! Can't see anything

Hi guys

So I bought the skywatcher heritage 130 as reviews and discussions said it was simple to use. 2 clear nights and I still can't see anything

When looking through all I see is a bright ring with a dark hole. This is on both stars and Jupiter or what I think is them. I saw this is meant to be out of focus but when trying to focus nothing changes

Please help what am I doing wrong. I thought aim and see, but I'm not seeing anything.

I am a real beginner and know nothing about astronomy but am I being too naive about viewing. I really didn't think it would be this difficult

Sounds like you are a long way out of focus. Use the longer focal length eyepiece (25mm?) and run through the whole range of focus, it should come in at some point. I think the Heritage has a helical Focuser which you turn to adjust

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Usually a doughnut shape is way out of focus.

Have you actually travelled the focuser from one extreme to the other, as in to each end stop?

The other thing is do it slow, the focuser is I guess a single speed and you may be passing through focus too quick.

Next is there a 2" adaptor with the scope as there is with the 200P newtonians?

If so then this has to come out and the 1.25" adaptor put back in.

They load up the scope with a 2" adaptor that will take the 1.25" adaptor in it for shipping.

Then it gets left in and you cannot focus the thing.

Also just in case put the 25mm eyepiece ONLY in.

I only say this as on one scope that someone was having problems with, the scope came with eyepiece, barlow and extn tube. So they assumed that all the bits had to go on. Simple solution as all I ahd to do was take as many bits off as I could, then it worked.

A bright ring with a dark hole - like a donut, is what stars and planets look like when they are well out of focus with any scope that uses a secondary mirror.