Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Hello there!

DavidOgilvie

Hi all,

Just joined the forum and looking for some advice! Ive been into astrophotography for about the last year or so now, and while I've been fine with getting the whole star-trails sort of thing, ive been struggling with deep sky imaging. So far I've been using a fixed tripod and taking multiple shots of relatively short exposures and then stacking them all in deep sky stacker, with 20 or so dark frames and bias frames. So far Ive attempted Jupiter, Orion's nebula, and Andromeda (lets not go there, I completely missed it..)

I got the first two in shot no problem, but the quality after running 200ish light frames along with dark and bias frames through DSS just isnt there - ive not been able to get anything much better than what I can get out of just one raw image.

Getting to a relatively dark skies area is no problem for me during holiday time, although im currently a student at Nottingham Uni, and nottingham is terrible when it comes to air pollution! So my time for when I can do deep sky imaging is limited..

I've been thinking about getting hold of a star tracker. Ideally one that I can simply put onto my tripod, use a gps on it and it will track for me. Im using a Canon 5d mkii and then either a 200mm or 300mm fixed, so it would need to be able to support 1.5-2.5kg

And then of course, ideally as cheap as possible to without sacrificing stability/quality!!

Any help would be most appreciated :)

David

Just a quick example of some of the stuff I've been doing: https://www.facebook.com/davidogilviephotography/photos/pb.684676948238265.-2207520000.1418771466./685480471491246/?type=3&theater

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi David, welcome to the SGL.

Not sure if this is the sort of thing you are looking for:

http://www.firstlightoptics.com/skywatcher-star-adventurer/skywatcher-star-adventurer-astronomy-bundle.html