SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Linux development - OS and IDE?

NickK

Now my background is unix in it's old flavours (I've programmed unix and linux before).. I've used Kubuntu in the past (5+ years ago).

So I'm looking for the best linux (thinking kubuntu again) 64 bit and then an IDE.. but which? Is linux still stuck in the age of vi and makefiles?

The OS version must have OpenCL 1.2 and OpenGL and allow my ATI 67xxM use under virtualbox.

Any suggestions?

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I'm sure you will get lots of good info but just a warning, in my experience ATi video cards are a real pain to get working as AMD stopped providing support for driver development back in 2012. This generally means you are stuck with the open source driver which is often less than ideal. I gave up on a Radeon 4350 card and swapped it for a Nvidia because of this.

Nick, I can't offer advice regarding OpenCL and fullness (or lack of it) of OpenGL support on Linux, but my IDE of choice is Eclipse + CDT (https://eclipse.org/cdt/). It's come a long way (I've been using it for many years) and it's practically as comfortable as MS Visual C++ (integrated debugging is still more convenient in MSVC, but not by much). As for the distribution, I use Fedora (with KDE) since its beginnings and I'm satisfied with it.

Thanks folks there seems to be a few issues:

* AMD/ATI driver causing the problem on OS X - AMD know that but the warning is that it may take some time to fix (or do I read that that AMD/ATI has given up the ghost for GPU drivers completely..). Basically the AMD drivers simply decide not to work for some texture sizes - this is down to the runtime not anything in user space that simply returns without doing anything (that's the official AMD explanation).