Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

New User

DanHoax

Hello,

As you have probably already guessed from my username my name is Dan. I am new to the amateur astronomy scene, though space and its seemingly infinite reaches are something which has fascinated me since I was young. I have recently inherited a 2nd hand telescope (Bushnell 78-9003) I am now looking to stop browsing in awe what other people are viewing and start looking at the solar system etc through my own eyes.

I guess what I am looking for from this forum is a place to seek advice from knowledgeable people, check out what other people are doing and to learn more about space.

The first question I have though.......Does anyone have any experience with the Bushnell 78-9003 Telescopes?

Ive read a few reviews online and they do not seem favourable and the general consensus is that you could spend a little bit more money and get telescopes with far better capabilities, that are a lot sturdier and better built. The user manual states that this telescope can be used to easily view Andromeda and the Orion Nebula as well as Saturn and Jupiter (Though some reviews seem to be sceptical of this)

As this was free I am happy to use this as a beginner telescope and I am also willing to put some money into it if upgrading is a possibility and more financially viable than purchasing a better telescope. So far I have managed to have a good look at the moon last night whilst the sky was clear.

Thanks for taking the time to read my ramblings!

• Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi :-)

You might find this thread relevant to your telescope

http://stargazerslounge.com/topic/206979-lost-eyepiece-for-bushnell-78-9003/

An improved eyepiece might be an idea and that you could take forward to a future scope but read that thread I linked first.

Enjoy your free telescope :-)

Also download stellarium it is great free software.

Edit that link is out of stock so this is another example link