Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Atik 420M White pixel problem / Help

Rush

Dear Star gazers,

This is what i m experiencing  with a New Atik 420 m. Its 3 months old ,couldnt test bvor, bcos of missing TAK spacing rings.

Now rings arrived,focusing is manageable,But ....phew... just cant believe what i see.
The amount of white pixels present in both light frames dark frames are beyond my control.
Please do take a look at this Lightframe.180 sec exposure -10 deg CCD temp.

Anyone out there to lend me some pixel wisdom :)

Thank U all in advance.
Clear skies
Rush

post-39070-0-52934900-1417171447_thumb.j

post-39070-0-03241600-1417171898_thumb.j

I'm not an expert, can I just check, is the top image a short exposure of a roof and the bottom image a 10 min dark frame? if so yes it doesn't look right to me even comparing it to my 350D's.

So the cooling was definately working?

Atik 420m? not seen that one, is that the same as the 420L mono? I was looking at those for future hyperstar-ing my C8 and hi-res short frac imaging.

I know its been 3 months but surely it has a 12 month warranty against defects?

Sorry I can't help more :(

Thanx for ur Interest Chris,Both 180 sec exposure.Same CCD temp and focus. Yes its still within the guarantee period.I was wondering if this happening due to my handling errors .U know i want to avoid a bit of calibration frame work.The company add says ,U can even use it without dark frames" save time"for its low noise. But thats not the case:( with this particular Cam.

The Atik 420 is the first camera in its class to offer high performance regulated cooling, low power consumption and narrow body all in one. It is particularly well matched with the 6 and 8 inch HyperStar systems, where the narrow body and low heat dissipation make a difference, or with short focal lenght refractors, providing a very fast, high definition wide field of view.

Sensor Type: CCD - Sony ICX-274
Horizontal Resolution: 1620 pixels