Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Focus max variability

libraryman

Hi, i guess that there are a lot of people out there using Focusmax...i have been using it for several months and iv'e run my V curves that appear o.k.

however the other night i ran into some odd behaviour that meant focus max failed for me.

i was using a 5nm narrowband filter.

Due to the fast temp drop; i started to record my focus position for the temp!  focusmax converged and gave a reading of position 22295....o.k.

after some time i refocused on a different star..focus converged but it was clearly not best focus so several times i reverted to 22295 + a few.

i have struggled with the ideal brightness  for focusing through the 5NM filter.

is there a range of brightness that can be used for Narrowband?

does the choice of star make a big difference? i wasn't imaging at the zenith but not far off.

Is it wise to focus on the same star all night if possible?

Ray 

I suggest you use the Acquirestar feature. It finds a suitable star that has no neighbors that can disturb the process. For NB I use mag 3-5, for LRGB mag 6-8. Make sure you use three exposures per measurement so that the seeing is cancelled out.

(The numbers from your focuser say very little when we do not know how many steps you have per FWHM value...)

/per

Hi Per, i don't have the full version of Pin point, which i believe is required for Acquirestar,  though i accept it would be better since i could probably automate the slew control etc. 

The focuser moves 6.7 microns per/step ..since the Tak106 has a 55 micron critical zone that's 8 steps..however i have just measured the Tak focuser backlash and that's 22 steps or 147 microns.

it might be that's the issue...would you consider that possible?

Ray

Seletek, with a Seletek armadillo controller.

I did not have the backlash configured in focusmax either for the v curves i ran or for subsequent imaging runs.