SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Planetarium Software that is simple to use.

Ok so before everyone shouts up Stellarium, I already use it and am pretty well versed with it, however I am just wanting to compare it with some alternatives that are out there.

Rules are (yes there are some) that it must be at least (or near to) as simple as Stellarium to use. << F3 button, type in DSO name, return key and bingo, there you are.  

OK well maybe not that simple but I think you know where I am coming from. I think I downloaded and quickly deleted cartes du ciel  because to me it was just far to involved.

The other one is to have a catalogue of objects that preferably exceeds Stellarium (if possible), some DSO's are not on there eg caldwell are not complete and some with pre-fix sh and pk are missing too. I am not sure about these latter DSO's as I have no experience with them so might be going off on a wild goose chase but unless you ask!

Anyway, lets see what you guys use.   :grin: 

Steve

• Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply

SkySafari. Not free but cheap and (even) easier to use than Stellarium, at least on the Mac. It has coverage of DSOs and stars down to 18th mag (but I suspect coverage is not full, and that is for the Pro version which costs a bit more). Search is easy too.

I wouldn't be without it (and I've used Stellarium quite a bit in the past).

Martin

Under "Tools" in the Configuration Menu of Stellarium, you can download more catalogs.

Clear, Dark Skies

I will have a play around with this, actually had seen it but last time I did I couldn't get it to work, must be something I am doing wrong

Currently installed on my mac:

* Stellarium

* TheSkyX Professional Edition + Camera Addon

* Aladin (strasbourg uni)

I'm considering SkySafari Pro to use the redundancy Apple voucher given to me..

Stellarium is nice.. it's like an old coat that you're used to.