Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Question re a 12V universal DC power supply

AlistairHowie

Hello

Can I use this product  http://www.maplin.co.uk/p/12v-3a-universal-dc-power-supply-with-6-power-tips-a92jh to power my USB hub using my Tracer lipo?

Specifically, what I'm asking is whether it will tolerate an input voltage of less than 12V .... say 11.5V or 11V which my lipo outputs as it discharges ... and still be happy outputtng the necessary 5V for the USB hub?  I know it won't be able to output 12V if the input is less than that, but for those of you who know how these things work, will be be OK outputting 5V?

Many thanks

Alistair,

Good question!

I've been using one of these for the past six years to power my USB hub from the 12V gel cell batteries I use.

(I also a similar convertor 12V>15V for the NEQ6 mount)

I don't monitor the battery voltage so I can't confirm 100%, but - touch wood - I haven't experienced any issues so far......

Thanks for the suggestion, Mick.

I already have the 12V Universal DC supply and have been using it fine with my LiFePO4 battery, but that outputs about 12.5V across almost all of it's discharge curve.  I'm reconfiguring things now and seeing if I can run my hub using a my lipo battery at 11.5V.  I suspect it'll all be fine, but just looking for input from someone in the know.

Those BECs are interesting, though.  Far less bulky than my clunking great universal power supply so now you've got me thinking and a quick Google search returned this ...

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/New-Waterproof-DC-Converter-12V-Step-Down-to-5V-3A-15W-Power-Supply-Module-/301379142651?_trksid=p2054897.l4275

Looks like all I would need to do would be to put a cigarette lighter plug on one end, and a 1.7mm power tip on the other (actually, I have no tools or ability to do that, but I'll worry about that later!!).  Input voltage is 8-23V, so that would work just fine with my lipo.  So I have three questions then ...