Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

How many of the Messier objects have you seen ?

Gas_mantle

• Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I honestly have no idea  :grin: 

I've seen a few, but I guess I haven't seen them all. I really don't know :icon_scratch: Although I like to sketch, I don't keep a log of everything I observe and I don't sketch everything I see. As for making lists and plans and ticking them off, I'm not very good at that kind of thing :smiley:

I've viewed them all - I saw the more southerly ones with an 80mm scope from southern Europe. There is an issue about what counts as "all": M102 is possibly non-existent or a re-observation of M101, or else may be identified with various galaxies (which I've also viewed). Messier's own list only went up to 103 - numbers 104 to 110 were added much later (but of course any Messier bagger will want to include them).

Things get even more complicated with the Herschel list (2,500 objects), where there are numerous duplicate, missing or non-existent objects. Observing these lists is a lesson in history as well as astronomy.

Hiya,

Currently on 47 Messiers (12 Caldwells). I have seen more, but I only started ticking them off, so to speak, earlier this year (when I got my 10 inch scope, in fact). I haven't counted sightings with my previous scope or with the binoculars. The figures also don't count those I wasn't totally sure about ...

You might find the checklists in one of my other posts useful (they're what I use) – http://stargazerslounge.com/topic/226398-checklists/

Kev.

Keeping video (astronomy) evidence of mine! So about 60/90.

(I claim twenty are below various rooftops, trees, hedges...) :p

Trying to be a little more systematic, these days... List-making

has become something of an obsession lately. lol. Whatever,

I combine Messier & Caldwell with the (two add-on) O'Meara

books, and cut according to season (right ascension).