Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Gravity and black holes....is this right ?

Gravity is purely dependant on the mass of the object that creates it. The more massive an object, the greater the gravity well it creates. Correct ? Does then the mass of an object increase if you compact it down ? For instance, if I took a planet, squashed it down to half it's original size without losing any of its mass, will it produce a greater gravitational pull ? To my mind, (and I'm no expert) the answer is no.

The reason I ask this is because I was thinking about black holes the other days whilst on the loo. As we know a black hole is a collapsed star. Why would it be that the black hole, which has no more mass than the star that created it (at least initially), have such a stronger gravitational pull ?

At a large distance from a body its size makes no difference to its gravitational pull, and it can be approximated as a point source at its centre of gravity. However, its a very different matter at short distances, particularly when standing on its surface. if you crushed the Earth down to half its size the surface gravity would be far stronger as the average distance to the attracting mass is smaller.

It's a similar story with a star becoming a black hole, a distant planet would continue orbiting as before but the surface gravity becomes so high that light cannot escape. 

Wot Mr Knight said !

Squash the same amount of matter into a smaller area, the gravity gradient becomes somewhat strong near the surface. The overall amount of gravity is exactly the same though, just that it becomes more concentrated at/near the surface.