SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

meade 4000 series eye piece filter set

alro

Hello all,

thanks in advance for any help.

just got meade lx90 acf 8inch goto.

Im just wondering if this ep set would be a good investment for this scope.

i have copied list to reduce leg work!

other ep i have looked at are

antares w70 widescreen

vixen

hyperion

i have no other ep as this is my first telescope.

Each Series 4000 Set Includes 

6.4mm Super Plössl Eyepiece 

9.7mm Super Plössl Eyepiece 

12.4mm Super Plössl Eyepiece 

15mm Super Plössl Eyepiece 

32mm Super Plössl Eyepiece 

40mm Super Plössl Eyepiece 

2x Barlow Lens (#126) 

Hard Carry Case 

Color Filter Set #1 (yellow/red/green/blue)

Moon Filter (nd96)

Again thanks for help. As a complete novice, as yet not even a beginner would ut be worth to get this before getting more expensive ep, when i have a clue what im doing!

I am looking forward to all your help.

• Replies 40
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Ya Air - nice scope mate.  All depends what you want to do with the scope - its got quite a long focal length at F10 and is geared towards the Planets and the Moon.  The 4000's are a nice set of Ep's - I still have mine after many years and use them with my 5" Mak and in my Binoviewers - they don't give very wide fields and the shorter focal length Ep's don't have a great deal of Eye relief - you really have to get your eyes in nice and close to see all the field.

The Hyperions are a little more expensive but give very good eye relief - I think about 20mm - so you can place your eye 20mm's away from the eye lens and still see all the field of view.