Welcome to the forum

Not from your neck of the woods, but have you tried here :-

Milton Keynes Astronomical Society

Next Meeting on 31st October this Friday

Rectory Cottages

Church Green Road

Bletchley

MK3 6BJ

Your bound to meet up people with the local knowledge, you might even strike lucky and find they have a good dark site

Regards John

Welcome Rich. Coming along to our meeting this Friday would be a good start. It is actually a talk night, but don't let that put you off, we have a very good speaker coming.

www.mkas.org.uk

Ah thats great, might be a little bit out of my depth for now as im new to the hobby and only just purchased my first scope. But if i can convince a friend to come with me then i'll be there.

Do you host any stargazing parties in the area?

Rich

I observe from my back garden in mk but it isn't the darkest of places! There are plenty of darker skies not too far away but I have yet to find a decent place to set up my scope away from the roads or on somebody's land.

I first saw the milky way properly from a layby on the Leighton Buzzard bypass!

I have looked at the mkas but not plucked up the courage to go to a meeting yet as I feel I would be out of my depth. It is a shame that tonights meeting wasnt for observing because it is quite clear at the moment. Can almost guarantee cloud for the next one!

There is a thread in the Beds, Herts and Bucks area section about trying to find a dark spot but I haven't checked it for a while to see if anyone has found a decent one.

Michael.

Hi Michael,

Thanks for reply its still nice to know of other stargazers in the area. Hopefully overtime this thread will get filled with some good local spots.

I too observe from my garden. I'm actually outside Milton Keynes so skies can be quite good, I can see M45 Pleiades on a clear night.