Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Your help needed please to save an astronomy course

Helen

I'm currently studying part-time for a degree in Observational Astronomy at the University of South Wales.  This is a relatively new course, been running for 4 years, and is aimed at those who want to study astronomy but don't have a strong background in maths and physics.  It is practical more than theoretical - you actually get to learn the night sky, look through telescopes, do observing logs, learn history, as well as study planetary science, formation and development of stars and galaxies etc.  The emphasis is not on the derivation of all the equations but on their practical use.  Science communication and outreach also form an important part of the course.  The way the course is taught and assessed teaches students a wide range of work-applicable skills: doing presentations, writing articles, doing press notices, researching and writing reports, technical and software and analytical skills.  

I'm loving it!

The course was amended and revalidated during the summer based on the experience of the first 4 years of the course.  Those providing external input to the process were impressed by the course, which is actually unique in the UK.  It therefore came as a complete shock to everyone, including the teaching staff!, when the Uni announced on Wed that it was phasing the course out!  No new students will be taken on.