Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Purchasing Decision for Eyepieces/Barlows

Good morning to all!

I'm new to astronomy and have just purchased the Skywatcher 130P EQ2 and a 2x Achromatic Barlow.

I want to check that my calculations are correct as I don't want to spend money on an incorrect piece of equipment.

According to the manufacturer's information, the highest practical power of the scope is 260x.

Focal length is 650mm.

Therefore, a 5mm eyepiece with a 2x Barlow will therefore be a 2.5mm eyepiece effectively.

650mm / 2.5 = 260

So to achieve maximum magnification I would only need a 5mm eyepiece in combination with the 2x Barlow.  Is this correct?

Can you go beyond 260x?  What happens to image quality/clarity if you do?

Many thanks indeed!

Andy

For DSO 260x is plenty and a 5mm will work well for that. 

Good nights means you can use that higher magnification. Poorer nights lower magnification is better.

As you increase magnification you reduce the amount of light and also increase the negative atmospheric effects (in this case 260x more). So on clear nights can you achieve very high magnifications.

Saying that the moon can take alot of magnification even pushing your limit. I've seen the moon at 400x on perfect nights.

I would expect that you will get about 180x maybe 200x from the scope, not 260x.

The magnification claims have slowly increased over time, and even  increased for the same unchanged scope.

One scope I have claims some simply insane magnification, it is a nice little 70mm achro and works well to 70x and maybe 100x, the manual says 240x :eek: :eek: :eek: . Which is about 3.5x diameter. In reality it will get to about 1.5x diameter, on a good day with a following wind. :grin: It works much better at 1x diameter.