SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Tele Vue 102 v's other Apo's?

I'm going to purchase either a Tele Vue 102 or something like an Explore Scientific 102. I will be using the score for visual and looking at planets, moon and bright DSO.

Is there really that much of a difference in quality of image in the eyepiece all other things being equal? I have no experience with ANY apo refractor, but I have experience when comparing a quality camera lens v's a Leica lens or equivalent. I know both will produce great photographs, but the Leica will produce photos with 'personality' that others lens cannot match. Is this is fair comparison? Please let me know if the premium cost is worth it (I understand the quality of the scope many vary between brands)

Thanks
Chris Hurst

• Replies 39
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Here is a comparison of a few different scopes including the Televue 102 for you to look at:

http://www.wlcastleman.com/equip/reviews/100mm_refractors/index.htm

Interesting comparison that one. The Vixen ED100SF is basically the same scope as the Skywatcher ED100. The Skywatcher branded versions can be picked up used for around 25%-30% of the cost of a used TV102.

The overall build of the TV would be in a different class though.

Yes, if you have the cash, go for quality.

I do not know about Televue but I have owned refractors like The TOA150 made by Takahashi and Astrophysics. Buy a Takahashi 'scope. Put down your name on the wait list for an Astrophysics 130mm refractor and wait.