Narrowband

Southern hemisphere skies.

Kia Ora everyone.

I have recently embraced my passion for astronomy and purchased a Celestron C8 on an AVX mount which I love! However, an opportunity arose for me to do some travelling in New Zealand and here I am. Unfortunately I can't bring my telescope over just yet but I came armed with some new 10x50 Opticron Discovery bins to fill the gap. Anyway, I'm in a tiny town called Coromandel and last night I had my first real opportunity to see what the sky has to offer here. In a word, fantasmagorical!! Have another, amayonazing!! You don't even have to be anywhere particularly dark and you can just see the Milky Way, its immediately obvious, as are the Magellanic clouds. When you actually use the binoculars there are faint fuzzies all over the place, particularly in and around Sagittarius. So I'm just learning a few of the constellations and trying to work my way around. I thought I would share this "first light" experience with like minded people and as this is the newbie section, is there anything I should be looking out for? Also are you presented with a more luminous parts of the galaxy in the southern hemisphere because it really is striking?

I hope you all have a similar opportunity one day as it is incredible!

Regards,

Chris.

Re ... is there anything I should be looking out for?

Answer is Yes. Look to the old constellation of Argo Navis  ie. Carina , Vela and Pupis.

post-37798-0-76106000-1413432997_thumb.j

If you are there towards the end of November (check your star map) you will see the greatest star show on earth as you will see all the brightest stars in the sky stretching from N to S.  At this time I even get to see Capella . You will see stars from Canopus (in Carina) to the Dogs (Major and Minor) to Orion , to Taurus and the Pleiades to the Northern stars lower down to the North.

Re: Also are you presented with a more luminous parts of the galaxy in the southern hemisphere because it really is striking?