SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Different exposure times vs same exposure times

I am just learning the basics of astro photography and have been experimenting, but

I noticed some people do a series of exposures that are the same with their calibration frames. Example

100 x150 second shots

But other people do a series of exposures. For example 

20 x 30 seconds

10 x 300 seconds

4 x 500 seconds

I was wondering if anyone had any insight on which methods are better, or at least the why's behind doing it with multiple exposures

• Replies 76
  • Created
  • Last Reply

If you're just starting out, I'd go along with Martin. This is a tough enough learning curve without adding extra complexities. Once you understand all the processes involved and feel comfortable with what you're doing, you'll also probably find that you become less happy with the results, and want to improve. Then you can look at taking subs of different lengths and merging them to produce an improved image. 

When you're combining, you should have, ideally, matched calibration frames for each set of lights, so that means multiple sets of darks etc.

I am just learning the basics of astro photography and have been experimenting, but

I noticed some people do a series of exposures that are the same with their calibration frames. Example

100 x150 second shots

20 x 30 seconds

10 x 300 seconds

4 x 500 seconds

I was wondering if anyone had any insight on which methods are better, or at least the why's behind doing it with multiple exposures

Nice question Vertigo.

To answer the question I will take you on a short ride (sans mathematics !) through the theory as to the effect of taking longer exposures and why one stacks images. To ask  of  merit of the " individual methods"  is to miss the point of what one is trying to do ie. Make a low noise image.