Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

ISO v post processing - what next?

Having recently improved my polar alignment, though still unguided and using an unmodded 700D camera, I am now starting to increase exposure times and have attempted some hitherto inaccessible objects. I have had some success with the North America Nebula at 90 seconds (previously 30 - 40 secs) and ISO 1600 and the other evening tried the Veil Nebula etc.  However, this time I found ISO 1600 produced a more bleached image and therefore went for ISO 800 instead.  The final picture, after tacking showed the Veil, which post processing in Photoshop has further enhanced but I am not happy and would like to get more detail, if possible.

Should I have stuck to ISO 1600 in order to gather more information, albeit at the cost of graininess, or am I missing something in post processing - which I am new to and finding (as with many of these issues) something of a black art?

post-34728-0-22616500-1412246825_thumb.j

Veil Nebula - original sub 90 seconds @ ISO

post-34728-0-47271600-1412246906_thumb.j

90 seconds @ ISO 800

post-34728-0-32937900-1412246949_thumb.j

Stacked (subs+darks+bias+flats) + post processing & cropped

That's come out quite nicely, it's almost an OIII view of the broom due to the limited Ha response of the camera.

Boosting the ISO doesn't really increase sensitivity, the camera just applies a multiplier to the data, boosting both signal and noise. in theory you could just shoot at ISO 100 and stretch the stack more to get the same image (in practise you might get slightly different results due to the quirks of individual cameras, some are slightly better at different ISO settings). The main benefit of choosing a sensible ISO level for the exposure is that it makes it possible to check the exposures as they come in.

Your 90 second ISO 800 sub looks pretty sensible. The thing to avoid is boosting up the ISO too high and blowing out bright areas.