SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

200P Dob - two eyepieces for £250?

ash73

Hi everyone,

I've been using a Skywatcher 200P Dob for a couple of years with a Celestron range of plossl eyepieces, and would like to replace them with a couple of higher quality eyepieces. I look at everything from the moon and Jupiter to the seven sisters and occasional DSOs, I tend to only pop out for 30-45mins at a time, and I use the 13, 17 and 32mm from my current set because I found the higher mags hard to focus and the narrow field of view requires constant nudging.

Budget is £250-300, current thinking is...

1. Baader Hyperion Aspheric 2"x31mm
2. Baader Hyperion 68 degree 13mm (or 17mm?) with adjustment rings, which gives me 13-8mm (or 17-9mm) albeit with lots of faffing, 20mm eye relief and 68 FoV. I'm hoping this would be more usable at higher mags than my plossls?

or:

1. Skywatcher Panaview 2"x32mm (or similar)

2. Baader Hyperion 24-8mm zoom lens, which gives me a broader range and a lot more convenience, but less eye relief and FoV; and I might have to rig something up to counter-balance the mass?

or:

Blow the budget on a 14mm Televue Delos eyepiece, to use with my existing 32mm Plossl.

Questions:

- Which combo would people recommend?

- Any other recommendations?

- Any suggestions for counter balances (if required)?

TIA :)

The Hyperions and Aspherics really don't do that well at F/6 I my opinion, considering their cost.

The Hyperion Zoom however (different optical design) does quite well and might be the best use of your money along with the Panaview 32mm, so your second option.

The Delos would be a step up again though but maybe wait until you can get more than one because they will make the others seem a little "ordinary" :smiley: