Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Celestron C6-N Newtonian VX GOTO any good for Astrophotography?

Hi, I would like to get into Astrophotography but my budget is around £800, I am not a newbie to astronomy but I do consider myself an newbie to Astro CCD stuff .  I have had a 200p Dob for a while and would like to move on to imaging, I found one for my budget from First Light Optics - Celestron C6-N Newtonian Advanced VX GOTO.  Although it is a basic OTA and needs an autoguider camera, camera holder  and eye pieces, I have limited budget and do not wish to spend stupid amounts like you do with  the HEQ5 Pro.   The VX is the same price in 3 different shops so I am guessing that its a good bargain, considering the mount is good.

Does anyone have any experience with this setup?

Hi there,

Sorry I don't have experience with the VX, but I have read that it is a good mount, comparable to a HEQ5. 

I had to go through this decision making process last year.

The CN6 is essentially a 150p and costs very little, so they are throwing it in free with the mount.

To compare apples with apples, a HEQ5 syntrek + 150p would set you back about £630 + £180  = £810

Whereas the VX Cn6 comes in at £765 so that's £50 cheaper, which is a compelling case from Celestron.

However based on the adoption rates by Europeans, I would say that very few VX's are shipping.

I don't know why this is? Anybody else know why?

Some personal thoughts on this issue:

- The HEQ5 is a well tested mount, known and loved by many and very well recommended.

- EQMOD support for Skywatcher mounts ... 

- The perception is that Celestron focus is on Cassegrains and fork mounts. (good for planetary, but a pain for long exposure.)

- May be it is to US focused so support is less here in Europe?

My understanding is that Orion, Sky watcher and Celestron mounts are all made by the same company anyway, but the designs are different.