SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

ES 120deg 9mm vs Ethos... Opinions desired?

Liquid360

I've just purchased a new FSQ-106EDX. I'll be doing some visual observing. Having previously owned a large SCT I've never dealt with high end EPs. I've already bought a used TV Ethos SX 3.7mm and I'd like to buy just one more. The ES 120º 9mm is on sale and was wondering if I should just stick with Ethos line. If you think Ethos, which would you choose considering the SX 3.7 I've already bought. I have zero experience here so opinions greatly appreciated.

I have the 21mm, 13mm, 8mm and 6mm Ethos and all are extremely useful in my refractors which are similar in spec to yours. I used to have the ES 20mm / 100 degree and that was excellent too. I've never used or even seen the ES 120 9mm but I've read a few reports on it. For me the Ethos range is really excellent and I don't find myself pining for an extra 20 degrees so I think I'm going to pass on the ES 9mm 120 as I can't see it beating the Ethos in anything other than field of view and it's purcahse price in the UK makes the Ethos look quite low cost !

same as John,i had both Ethos and ES in 100 degrees and both where optically excellent.Obviously if that uber wide 120 degrees fascinates you,by all means go for it,but i found 100 degrees already more than i need,never mind the extra 20.At the end,all my 100 degrees are gone or will be gone and are replaced with humble 84 or 82 degree eye pieces as thats the sweet spot for me for wide angles.

A couple of issues when I used the 9mm 120 degree:

--the concave eye lens reflects any and all ambient peripheral light straight into your eye.  I could only use the eyepiece with my hands cupped around the side of the eyepiece or with a black hood over my head, even with the rubber eyecup flipped up.