Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Sh2-101 2 Panel Mosaic

dave_galera

Hi All,

This is my first attempt at a mosaic of the Tulip nebula region of Cygnus narrowband HST palette. I find this of Cygnus very interesting I intend to do a lot of this region next year and have ambitions of a huge mosaic, but first things first.
With this image I was determined to get to grips with PI's deconvolution as I have always have big problems with ringing, and aslo try out TGVDenoise and Graient Merge Mosaic (Thanks Harry for video tutorials, couldn't have done without them!!) but I still to experiment with GMM a bit more and get it into the correct place in the workflow as it is prone to developing nasty artifacts if there are stars in the seems plus a few other funnies.

Details
Telescope: FSQ85 with reducer
Camera: Atik 383L with Atik EFW2 Filter wheel
Filters: Baader Ha, OIII and SII
Integration: 36 hours, 18 hours each panel + Bias, Darks and Flats etc
Subs: 36 x 600s each filter
Processing: PixInsight for reduction, cosmetic correction, stacking, DBE, TGVDenoise, Deconvolution, Gradient Merge Mosiac
Stretching with Fits Liberator
Colourisation in Photoshop CC 2014

Thanks for looking.

Dave

post-12917-0-41667000-1409507199_thumb.j

Thanks Sara, your comments are always appreciated, and yes this is an interesting region with lots more mosaics to be had and I have identified a region of about 20 x 15 degrees that would make a very large mosaic but a very large number of panes.

One comment I have had back is a slight halo around some of the stars so going to have a look at that.

Dave