SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

use and insights into histograms, what do they mean?

Histograms are easy to read. You never want to go too low with them or too high. PS lets you set points so you don'r clip things and "distort" your picture. Midrange holds the most details to our eyes. Try an s curve.

Hi VikN46 & Levene

Thanks for posting. The budgetast tutorial looks useful, and it gives lots of info on using Photoshop - thanks

Levene, not sure what you mean by go too low or too high, or setting points etc. I am new to all this have have to start from basics.

Regards

Alec

The budget astro videos are pretty good, I learned a few things from them, even though I have worked with photoshop professionally off and on for 12 years. The techniques used in AP are different.

Basily the histogram is a summary of how many pixels of each brightness you have, and a tool to alter the brightness and contrast in an image.

If you have a lot of flat histogram to the left (dark side) you can probably trim away some by moving the baseline closer to the "heap", but dont overdo it as you will easily destroy that fine data background in the darkness and make your image "burned out".

Like every tool in the box, you need to apply them very carefully as each "edit" degrades the final result. Image editing is all about presenting the interesting stuff while lessening the excess data.

It all becomes much easier when you have more/longer subs.

the

Hi folks

Can someone point me in the direction of an easy to understand explanation of astrophotography histograms and how they are interpreted and used. 

Thanks