SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

My first attempt at astro photography

vertigo262

This is my first time with an SLR, tried a SLM before was a lot more difficult. 

I am using a advanced vx mount, lx80 6 inch SCT. Starsense  and a canon 7D

these are all on ISO 800 ranging from 1 - 10 minute exposures. they are all blury. I am trying to figure out if it is because my polar alignment, tracking, or focus is off. I tried taking a picture of Saturn and it was just a blurry ball, even with 10 second exposure. But I could not get the focus any better.

beginner tips would be helpful

post-38374-0-55200200-1408613791_thumb.j

post-38374-0-27133000-1408613796_thumb.j

post-38374-0-21242700-1408613800_thumb.j

post-38374-0-06268400-1408613805_thumb.j

post-38374-0-65835500-1408613809_thumb.j

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Your Dumbbell Nebula shot and the last one look like you had a vibration issue. They are not just simple star trailing from poor polar alignment. Is the mount on a stable surface? Are you walking around the mount whilst the exposure is running?

The other shots don't seem to be showing star trailing or vibration, just inacurate focus. APT has a good focus aid and a Bartinov mask focus aid which are both very good and easy to use. It is free to use but a donation if you like the software is always a good idea as it helps the developer to continue to improve their software for the benefit of us all.

Despite the obvious problems they are very good shots btw. Well done. I hope you get things sorted out.

Edit: btw, 10 seconds on Saturn is a long exposure, I'm not surprised you just got a blob. Try reducing your exposure time for planets, they are quite bright compared to nebulae.

The mount was on dirt, but seemed pretty stable. I was sitting in a chair maybe 10 feet away, and the dumbell nebula was a pretty long exposure if I recall.