SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Beginner in astrophotography

Hi guys I'm new to astro photography and I'm wanted to get into. I was wondering any one out there if you could help me and guide me in for the gear I need to take amazing shots of the Milky Way ,stars, galaxy's ect. I want to get a telescope that I can fix my canon dslr to to take pictures. So I just need you guys to help me on equipment and what I need to have a full setup.

Thanks max

Hi and welcome. You've come to the right place.

First bear in mind that Astrophotography is expensive, and initially the most cash goes into the mount since the telescope is less important than holding everything firm while the mount motors track the sky as it rotates.

The minimum recommended setup is a HEQ-5 mount and 80ED-type refractor. My own starting rig is a bit different, but serves basicly the same purpose, a rugged mount and a cheaper more allround scope.

My recommendation is to first read Steve Richards book "Making Every Photon Count" before you spend any money, as this book will tell you how make a complete rig, all basic concepts and to avoid spending money in the wrong gear.

There are a ton of friendly users here that would love to answer any questions you might have, as it is always better to ask first and throw money in the sink later.

Welcome to the dark side.

Edit: Also before investing, just go out with your dslr and a mount and learn to take widefield pictures of the night sky, thats an excellent way to start knowing the sky while you figure out what gear to buy.

A good bank balance that you want to reduce extensively.

You could put something together for £1200 to £1500 or up to £20,000.

Add a location other then UK, there are astro clubs around that have imaging sections but UK is no use for anything. One good group meets South of me but if you are in Aberdeen little point me saying to drop in and visit.

What do you want to spend?