Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Opticstar ARC 152 QUAD

This design of scope has been around for a few years. Here is a 2006 report (in French) on what I think is more or less the same scope:

http://www.m42optic.fr/pro/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=185

Antares were selling them back in 2005 and I seem to recall one of our members having one, but I can't recall who ?

Thanks John, it's been awhile since I studied french but got the gist of it.

Have also read the reviews on the links provided by Zakalwe.

It's interesting to see the pictures on Cloudy Nights comparing the image through an ED80 and the 152, no contest ED80 wins hands down ( to my eyes at any rate).

I was looking at the APM 6" ED and thats over £3000 , not sure how much more you would see through that compared to my ED120 but at that sort of price I think I'll stick to the ED120.

Avtar

I was looking at the APM 6" ED and thats over £3000 , not sure how much more you would see through that compared to my ED120 but at that sort of price I think I'll stick to the ED120.

Its not how much more that you would see, but rather the increased colour correction that the APM would give, I would expect.

Its not how much more that you would see, but rather the increased colour correction that the APM would give, I would expect.

Surely with increased aperture you would expect to see fainter objects that would not show up in the ED120.

Avtar

Surely with increased aperture you would expect to see fainter objects that would not show up in the ED120.

Avtar

You would notice a difference when viewing deep sky objects. Maybe somewhat less of a difference when viewing the Moon and planets. I find the ED120 does very well on these sometimes getting close to the views that my 12" dob delivers of solar system objects.