SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

New stuff due on Tuesday

Just getting started with a telescope and leaning toward astro photography (I am a fairly accomplished teresteral photographer). I have a Celestron 102 SLT on the way with a few other goodies to set up for DSLR capture. I'll be using a Nikon D5300 and a D7100 for prime focus use.

Anyone with tips for this particular scope, please sound off,  I'm sure I'll need some help with the pitfalls and best practices so I get off on the right foot.

Thanks

'Wulf

Hey, welcome. An idea, get a used d5100 body and install the Nickonhacker firmware. Having the filter mods on that would be great too.-Jack

So that's the mod to help with hydrogen gas imaging for DSOs? It removes the IR filter or something....

The camera body mod, yes. You can replace the stock sensor filter with a Baader type and get improved DSO performance, and still use it for everyday with a modified white balance. You can also get the stock filter replaced with clear glass which really opens up the performance for astro. Then you can use an on camera filter for everyday. The firmware upgrade improves the RAW image capture and liveview performance, amoumg other things. The d5100 and d7000 use a better sensor for astro than the earlier or later models. -Jack

p.s. you might be interested in Backyardnikon also, a great camera control software. It's in beta2b right now. I have it and works fine.

The SLT mount isn't suitable for long exposure (DSO) imaging due to the way it tracks across the sky. Alt azimuth mounts, such as the SLT, track across the sky in a zig zag motion, with long exposures you will find that images begin to show rotation. A driven equatorial mount tracks in a smooth arc which follows the motion of the stars across the sky allowing for longer exposures. Exposures no longer than 30 seconds should help keep field rotation to a minimum.