SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

New Observatory Build

Soupy

HI Just thought to start a new blog/thread about my Observatory build, feel free to offer advice and support, or tell me if I am going wrong as I have no building experience what so ever and I know this is going to be a big job! I aim to have it fully completed and functional in the next 5 weeks, before the summer holidays, so will need all the help I can get.

I managed to catch a bargain on Ebay the other week and have now put plans in place to build it in the back garden, with the misses consent I might add! The dome is hand built fiberglass, 10ft diameter. It is all fully computerised and linked to the scope, or should I say it has been where it was installed and I hope to do the same once installed over at mine :) but it seems no easy task.

My mates have been brilliant at offering help to move and build it, I am sure they are looking to book time on it once it is built ;)

It will be coming across next week all being well so I have made a start today on the area where it is going.

This area has been my kids play area for the last seven years but is now mine to use as a new type of play area, so here is how it looked this morning

post-22085-0-51460800-1402173970_thumb.j

post-22085-0-47366200-1402174305_thumb.j

and here is how it looked this evening.

post-22085-0-68698500-1402174500_thumb.j

I have also now marked out the diameter for the foundations which I assume I am going to have to dig down approx. 600mm and dug out the foundation hole for the pier as can be seen here it is approx. 700mm deep I think this should be sufficient, I hope to have the pier approx 800mm above the ground so this should be a sufficient weight of concrete that shouldn't move... fingers crossed!

This is the area as I have just left it with the diameter marked out and the pier foundations dug :)

post-22085-0-50392500-1402174805_thumb.j

post-22085-0-95282100-1402174933_thumb.j