Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

help with Synscan

Hello everybody. I am a complete newbie to the forum,and despite having dabbled in sky watching in the past am a newbie to that too :smiley: .

I recently got myself an EQ5 goto mount and last night had it all good to go,waitng for nightfall.

I pugged my hand-set into my Celestron powertank (fully charged) and despite a *beep* sound of a second...nothing.

The hand set illuminates but I'm not getting any menu.The directional buttons seem to be doing something,because therre is a buzzing of the gears ,but the movement ,if any, is undetectable. Is this a common problem with the handsets? Is it broken or am I just being a newb?

Thanks for any help and forgive if this is not the right place to ask or indeed if it's been asked before.

Hi , your handset should plug into your mount, not your power tank. You should have a wire with. Telephone like connectors on it, one end plugs into the mount the other plugs into the handset. Your power tank should just be connected to the power socket on your mount. ;)

Agree with jambouk - try it in the day when you can see what you are doing. Handset should start of with "verifying package please wait" then something like "press enter to begin alignment" then ask for details of time and position. This may vary a bit.

Peter

I was thinking about the handset being plugged straight into the power source, but even so, if it is a handset like the one above, it still comes up with the verifying package info, then says "stand alone handset, no mount detected" or something; i sometimes just boot to handset to pre load the date and coordinates before travelling out or setting up.

But leads: power lead from power source to mount. Curly lead from mount to handset.

If it is the handset above, once it's turned on, press and release the buttons in this order: escape, escape, 2, 9, enter. Then try the four direction arrows and see if the mount moves any quicker.

Jd