Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Is the Celestron Astromaster 130EQ decent and other reflectors

Hello There!

I am a beginner astronomer that has always been interested in the wonders of space, and I have now decided to buy a telescope. I have been thinking a lot about the Celestron Astromaster 130EQ (130/650) and I was wondering if any of you guys have any experience with it and can tell me what I would be able to see with it? Im also planning on buying a EP or two and a barlow to bring the magnification up to 200-250x which would almost be stretching the limit for max mag but not completely. I was also wondering if any of you guys possibly know any other scope around the 200-250$ mark that are as good as the 130EQ or maybe even better.

I am grateful for any answer :)

The Astromaster telescope is OK but the mount is rather awkward to use, the control rods tend to foul each other and prevent the telescope from moving in certain positions so you have to keep resetting the mount. For starters, I think a similar aperture Dobsonian would be a better bet.  :smiley:

Hi Kriss, the Celestron Astromaster 130EQ is a good starter to break your teeth on, but I can't help wondering that you will want something bigger and better later on, perhaps a dobsonian as Peter has suggested above.  Also, don't get hooked on magnification, much astronomy is done on low and medium magnifications.  Higher mags are OK for solar system objects such as Moon and planets, but the rest of the universe demands lower widefield study.

The Astromaster was my first scope and to be honest, if I'd done a little homework, I'd have definitely bought a dobsonian instead. Yes the mount isn't too clever either because as soon as you touch it the image wobbles for aeons, or so it seems. The RDF is a pain also. If I were you I'd have a rethink.

Ally