Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

best compact telescope

I live in a tiny apartment in New York City (enormous light pollution), but I have the telescope itch for a long time.  What would be the best telescope that can be stored in a little coat closet?  I'm thinking I can't do more than 2-3 cubic feet for the OTA and maybe only an alt-az tripod.  Using it in New York may be rare (I would hate to move it around in the subway), but I may rent a car and go somewhere dark every once in a while.  I like looking at solar system objects, but I would love to see DSO if I get a chance.  I've been saving for a long time, so let's say cost is not an issue. 

My background is that I've owned a 6" f/8 old Orion dob, I'm hoping for something that can outperform that.  Also, I couldn't store a dob that big in my place.  I have a couple of decent binoculars including a 9x63 Vixen.  I like them, but I need something more stable than hand-held.

What would you recommend? 

Given the size constraint, you may find it tough to find a scope that would outperform a 6" Dob. The Celestron Nexstar range offers a compact telescope tube but you also have the mount and tripod to consider.

Good luck finding something that meets your needs. Let us know what you decide!

I'd recommend getting the book "Turn Left at Orion" and have a look at the objects achieved using only a small refractor. It's based on observations made from a back yard in New York with a small refractor (2.5" to 3.5" aperture). It discusses the strengths, weaknesses, and characteristics of the different telescope types in a later chapter - but primarily the book consists of sketches, finding instructions, and extra info about what you can see in the sky as the seasons tick over with a small scope.