Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Im New

Kosh

• Replies 41
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Newb? Maybe? As in Newbie, just starting out.

Noob tends to be a derogatory term for someone who's been around for ages and still doesn't know what they're doing.

That'd be me!  :wink:

Welcome to SGL, have a look at Stellarium, a free program for your 'puter!

Hi Kosh and welcome to SGL :)

Nice first scope the 8" dob is. Have a go for the Leo triplet, Jupiter, Mars M81/M82 for your first session tonight. Couple of planets and galaxies won't do you any harm. Find them by downloading Stellarium - it's free and once configured with your coordinates it'll tell you where everything is right over your location.

http://www.stellarium.org/

For a regular guide to whats up there - get either Sky at Night magazine or Astronomy Now. The center page monthly sky guides tell you what's current and interesting. :)

Im a noob, is that the right phrase?

Anyway bought a 8" Dob, just need to kow whats in the sky tonight and how to find it.

:)

Hi Kosh, welcome to SGL.  Download a copy of free planetarium software 'Stellarium' here: http://www.stellarium.org/  Otherwise take a look at the Jodrell Bank website here: http://www.jb.man.ac.uk/astronomy/nightsky/   NASA Spaceweather is also a good website for instant stuff: http://www.spaceweather.com/

EDIT: Kim, you type quicker than I do!

I have Stellarium and have been giving it a whirl (I used to lurk) but sometimes I think Ive bought a potato launcher, the problem I have is I dont easily find interesting stuff, I cant find anything as I really am a noob, "clot", lol