Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

What does "sketch" mean

Hello all, I am a newbie and I was wondering what the word sketch means I was looking at the "getting started observing" forum and came across Qualia's post "what can I expect so see" (great post btw) and on some of the examples the word sketch was used. I don't know what this means is it a type of telescope or imaging process? Thank you all for any help provided!

• Replies 37
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi and welcome to SGL.

Sketch as in sketching a drawing with pencil / pen on paper. The idea is that people often create a drawing as in sketch on paper what they see so that they have a record. I've seen some posts in here where people have shown some of their sketches from a year or two ago when a certain topic was talked about.

I feel kind of silly even asking now but thank you very much!!!

No, dont worry about it, perfectly good question.

There is also a "Sketch" used in the Arduino microcomputer world, meaning a program (for want of a better word!)

Not even [Monty] the spanish inquisition [/python] would expect that !

So, dont worry, the old adage "the only daft question is the one that never gets asked" applies.

Welcome aboard, by the way :)

This may be me in stupid mode (it's the meds you know), but how do they 'do' those sketches, white crayon on black paper or what?

BTW, all of them are absolutely brilliant :grin:

Thanks so much for posting that link.

It really demonstrates what you can actually see on a good night with a good DSO scope.

Wow, they are so good.

Adrian

This may be me in stupid mode (it's the meds you know), but how do they 'do' those sketches, white crayon on black paper or what?

BTW, all of them are absolutely brilliant :grin: