SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Best Astronomy Magazine?

I'm a newbie and about to buy my first telescope (Skywatcher Skyliner 200p Dob) next week. I am doing lots of research and reading and would like to regularly buy a magazine. Whilst shopping in Tesco last night I came across 3 choices

BBC Sky at Night

Astronomy Now

All About Space

I did have a nose through each one but as a newbie it was difficult to decide which was best. Interested to hear people's opinion.

• Replies 40
  • Created
  • Last Reply

ecw199.......Hi, I looked into buying a magazine and bought two since October( Nov 13 Jan 14)  but after a long think, I can get more information on-line and help from the forum. Sky at Night normally have the first 5 issues for about £5 if that's tempting enough.

Nice telescope you've chosen

Patrick [Moore], a joint founder of the society [JAS - BAA?] made his peace decades later...

Not so with his founding of the magazine *Astronomy Now*, which was in time followed 

by divorce and repeated attempts to set up a rival publication. :p

(Martin Mobberly's new Book: "It came from outer space wearing an RAF blazer" etc.)  :)

Surprised or Un-surprised? Sorry, I couldn't resist! :D

I do get "AN"... For now... ;)

I bought sky at night and astronomy now this month and I think visually astronomy now wins hands down. SAN seems better for hands on practical stuff though and tutorials. Astronomy now seems to discuss deep space things and theory more than things that you can see from your garden. Both great though and not too many ads. Just enough adds actually to wet ones appetite :)

Try a couple of issues of each magazine you're interested in and compare them. Pick the one you like the most and then buy a subscription.

Agreed: I did some of the above.  It did not take long to realize a favorite from the crowd.