Welcome to Stargazers Lounge
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Nikon D3000 +skywatcher 1145 help

- - - - -

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

MGB

MGB

Nebula

• New Members
  • 28 posts

Hi There

i Have a Nikon D3000 and bought the t2 and adaptor with a barlow and put it onto my skywatcher 1145 synscan telescope i had it on iso 1600 for between 20 secs up to a couple of minutes and all i got where black pictures but one of them had i think a star but it could of been dust.its manuel mode but on trying to get the f/ just reads f/00 and thats on the telescope im new to this any idea what im doing wrong has anybody got a similiar set up willing to give me some ideas.the wife is buying me a tamron 70-300 lense for christmas would this be ok to use for astrophotography as well comments appreciated thanks david

SkyWatcher  1145P synscan goto  25mm 10mm lenses x2 barlow

logitech quickcam pro 4000.

baggywrinkle

baggywrinkle

Sub Dwarf

• Advanced Members
  • 1,709 posts

I wouls suggest a daytime set up and practice. Attach the camera and point the scope at a distant object and see what you get. What were you focusing on for your night shots. Does the 'scopes focusing mechanism give you enough focusing travel?

The F0 would be normal in manual mode as the telescope is not an electronic lens, it cannot tell what the F number is and you cannot control it.

If the mount is an AZ Goto the several minutes exposure would not be possible, 20 secs is about the max with a driven AZ mount.