SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Celestron StarSense Accessory

I've been testing this for a few months and now it's started shipping can say something about it.

It can be fitted to most Celestron goto mounts and automates the alignment process in the same way as the SkyProdigy mounts do, the difference is that it can be fitted to a wide variety of mounts, both Alt Az and GEM.

Basically it works.

It fits to your scope like a finder. You turn it on, press Align when prompted and select SS Auto align. The scope moves to a number of positions (2 on each side of the meridian for a GEM), takes an image and plate solves it to get an alignment position. You get a well aligned scope without having to do anything.

If the positions it looks at are obstructed then SS reports "Too few stars", moves to a new position and tries again - and again. The place I've been testing at is seriously obstructed to the North and East - I'm set up about 3 feet from the side of the house. None the less it manages to align although it may need to make half a dozen attempts before it moves clear of the house.

There is also a SS Manual mode where you move the mount so it's looking at a clear patch of sky and it takes an image. You repeat this for the 4 positions and it's aligned.

I'm impressed by how well it does in hazy, twilight summer skies.

There's an electronic equivalent to aligning a finder; after doing an alignment you select and slew to a named star and press the Align button. The HC prompts you to centre the named star and when you have done so takes an image, solves it, and records the position of the star and the new centre.

There's a manual on the Celestron site.

Chris

• Replies 386
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Thanks for the info on this Chris.

As a CPC owner myself I've been very interested in this since it was announced.