SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Yet Another Observatory Build Thread

r3i

It's time to join the party...

After years of admiring all the terrific observatory builds on this and other sites, a move to a new house has given me the opportunity to finally do my own build.

Taking my inspiration from projects done by Malc-C, Gina, Darren and many others I'm building an observatory 4.8m * 2.4m, which will be split into a warm room and observing area with the roof from the observing area rolling back across the warm room.

I've never built anything this substantial before and it will no doubt test my limited DIY skills to destruction, but as long as I can persuade myself to take my time and enjoy the journey as much as the destination, I'm hoping I'll get something serviceable at the end.

I've been through the necessary 'planning applications' and have have secured approval from the Authority (wife), so here goes...

In the first few posts following this one I'll be playing catch up as I've already made a start.

• Replies 138
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Setting the scene: elevated view of the observatory location. There's a large tree and a fence that has seen better days to be dealt with.

post-5202-0-28145300-1353858887_thumb.jp

After employing the services of an arborial contractor, we now have a pile of logs, a nice new fence and open views over the fields.

post-5202-0-62308500-1353858924_thumb.jp

Thanks Pete & Gina - I'll need all the luck I can muster :smile:

The back garden faces south east so not too bad an outlook.

Welcome aboard and great start with the location:) an open field South East is about as good as it gets I think. Are you planning on having the roof role back towards your house in this case?

Moving swiftly along, some pics of the pier foundations:

I made a template for the threaded studs that the pier will bolt onto:

post-5202-0-86004600-1353863629_thumb.jp

Hole dug and some rebar added: