Welcome to Stargazers Lounge
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

My observing sites

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

Mr_Simnock

Mr_Simnock

Nebula

• New Members
  • 17 posts
I have been observing on and off for over 20 years in Lancashire, nothing too serious, I mainly use just my eyes and some bino’s. I hope in this thread to show some of the sites that I use to observe now when I get the time. I reside in Huncoat, Accrington but I did live in Chatburn in the Ribble Valley. The first spot is at Tosside on the Lancashire Yorkshire border next to Stocks Reservoir. Here is a link for more info on Tosside. http://tossidecommun...o.uk/index.html

Posted Image

As the map shows its up a track. I usually park next to the pub, the Dog and Partridge, and walk up. It’s very dark up there and cold so I wrap up well and take a torch. After about half a mile you reach a clearing surrounded by trees. The trees help keep cold winds at bay, the air is quite still there, it’s also got plenty of space to set up a scope etc too. Don’t worry about getting bothered by anyone it’s a bit remote and I have never known anyone else to venture up there at night although during the day you would see plenty of bikers and dog walkers. I have always gone with my brother and wife as it is a very lonely location on your own, and eerie to put it mildly. I also make sure my phone (or a phone) is fully charged up before I set out. Here are three pictures to help show the seeing conditions.