SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

DSLR ISO setting for DSO

Hi all,

what sort of ISO setting should i be using for DSO's.

i went out last night (1st light with new scope) took some images of The Hershel Cluster and the Ring Nebula, but wasnt till this mprning when processing my images that i realises that i took them at ISO 100.

For dso shouldnt it be much higher?

These are my 1st real attempts at DSO's, i am please with the results,

CPC800, no wedge, and exposure times are 53sec for hershel and 27sec for Ring

Many Thanks

post-23525-0-10413500-1340958864_thumb.j

post-23525-0-17750900-1340958964_thumb.j

As im new to all this, 800 ISO means that it should allow more light into the sensor, therefore capturing more light more quickly?

No, changing ISO does not affect the amount of light detected by the sensor. This is fixed whatever the ISO. This seems to confuse a lot of people, so you are not alone. However, certainly for Canon cameras, lower ISO has higher read noise, so for short exposures low ISO not optimal.

NigelM

ISO 800 is common.
If you go higher your images can become noisey.
The trick is to capture as many images as possible so that overall the total imaging time is as high as possible so for example 10 x 2 minute subs = a 20 minute total exposure. For great images you really need to be in the hours which is one of the reasons why this is such a dark art.

• 2 weeks later...

Interesting reads... I think the net result is I'm good to stick with ISO-800! For narrowband, it seems ISO-1600 might offer a slight improvement at the fainter end (given that star colour is not an issue)?

No idea what to make of the histogram shift being applied pre-RAW. What are the implications?

No idea what to make of the histogram shift being applied pre-RAW. What are the implications?