Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Make Your Own Alt And Az Bolt Set

Hi Everyone,

Just an heads up really, if you are thinking of making your own set please make sure the adjustable handle

is a low profile design otherwise if like me your alt is 51 deg you will not be able to fit the cover onto your

polarscope at that angle other than cranking it down to say 40 deg each time you pack away.

Hope this helps someone BigBlueOne.

Just out of curiosity what grade of steel are the oem alt-az bolts on the HEQ5/EQ6/NEQ6 type of mount?

I have seen upgrade sets available on fleabay (£51!) but they just say they are "specially selected stainless steel" so unsure if they actually be an upgrade at all

Hi,

I used to work in the fastener trade making nuts and bolts from stainless and super alloys (hastelloy, titanium, ferralium etc), one thing to remember with stainless is the name its stainless it doesnt say bendless or breakless you still get some stainless steel which is only as strong as normal carbon steel, A good heat treated 10.9 or 8.8 bolt (these are the numbers on the head of the bolt) is as strong as you should need, lets face it you should only need to turn them a tiny bit each time you use them, If you want to just look in yellow pages for fastener suppliers and you should get them cheaper from there.

Kev.

I don't have access to a thread gauge atm but am I right in assuming they are M10 coarse thread?

I might look around the web for alternatives but need to know if its a random imperial or some crazy Whitworth thread

omg went to take the alt bolts out and one was stiff

this is what came out eventually...

not happy as the mount is only two weeks old.