Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Revalation 20x80 v Helios Quantum 20x80

Hi, I am new to Astronomy and want to start out with bins and learn my way round the sky before I progress to a telescope. Can anybody give me some reviews on the bins in the title as the Helios are near £100 more for the same size. Hard to find any up to date reviews. You get what you pay for will not be much help. I need to know about the focusing and clarity of imaging before I buy some. Did read something about flaring in the Revalations. No local shop to go in to to ask.

I may be wrong here but the optics have a good chance to be made by the same company. I came across a Chinese website where they supply large binoculars to most of the big names in astronomy and they showed them with various casings which were similar if not the same to the brand name units. This was not a cheap site selling junk it was a legitimate company who only deal with the 'trade'. I would say get the ones you think would be the best for you regarding style as I think they both have the same optical spec.

I think it is fair to say that you get what you pay for so £100 80mm bins will pick up a lot of light compared to a 50mm set but will show some flaring and distortion towards the edge of the FOV but will be very usable on a good solid tripod!

If you pay £250 for an 80mm pair the FOV will show much less distortion.. If you get a FJ paid for £1000+ then you will get perfect star spots accross the whole FOV..

Mark

You get what you pay for will not be much help.
However, it is true. A half-way decent eyepiece retails in the region of £40-50, a coated 80mm short-focus achromatic lens about £80, prisms retail around a tenner each. A binocular consists of 2 eyepieces, 2 objective lens groups, 4 prisms, two focusing mechanisms, and associated housing/tubing. Now, ask yourself what quality it is reasonable to expect for a 20x80 binocular that retails for less than £85.