Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Amateur Astronomical Spectroscopy

Hi all,

I am an experienced amateur astronomical spectroscopist and can give detailed talks on my experiences in this field.

You can see some of my work here:

Stargazers Lounge - jsandse's Album: Spectra

You may not be aware of this but this is a thrilling area of amateur astronomy which has really taken off in Europe - France and Germany in particular but with one or two notable exceptions is not practised in the UK.

I have been able to:

- watch activity on stars like Deneb - and measure the terminal velocity of the wind of the star

- look at exotic stars such as Wolf-Rayets and compare my results with what is in the professional literature

- observe spetroscopic binaries such as Mizar and Menkalinen

- observe Be stars and contribute my findings to the BESS database

- capture spectra of stars and compare them to synthetic stellar spectra based on stellar models which I run on my computer

- contribute spectra to pro-am campaigns such as the Delta Scorpio and Epsilon Aurigae campaigns from last year.

And by doing all the above it is helping me to learn about the nature of stars.

I am a very passionate amateur astronomer - after work and family it has my complete devotion and I can make a talk that will appeal to any level of audience.

I definitely would never charge for any talks but would appreciate some help with transport costs if the talks are outside the south-east.

If anyone wants to have me do a talk or are just interested in spectroscopy and want to know more you can either send me a private mail or ring me on 0208 35388737

I assure you providing you are willing to learn once you learn about what you can do as an amateur in this field of work you will get hooked.

By the way no problems with light pollution for our field of work I was successfully doing spectroscopy with a friend in very light polluted East london on Saturday night.

kindest regards

John