SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Wanted : Astronomy 'buddy' - Basingstoke or Nearby

DH88

Hi All,

Im wondering if anyone around the Basingstoke area is looking for new people to meet and observe with.

Im a complete beginner and have bought a Skywatcher Explorer 200 to get started with. Theres a good viewing spot at Basingstoke Common and Crabtree, although im not keen on going out to the countryside on my own with expensive equipment.

Anyone around interested in making new friends and helping out a newbie ?

Hello there,

I am also a new member to this forum and live in Reading ( not a million miles from you ). I am in the process of finding out who is around as I am not a member of any clubs, etc., but am desperate to find a decent dark sky site.

If you are interested in a chat please PM me ( I don't have quite the scope that you have but am interested in the Skywatcher 200 as my 'next scope' ).

• 3 weeks later...

You want to talk to John Murphy as Basingstoke AS. They're on the Web.

They are the only club I know meets twice a month - once for imaging and practical stuff like observing and once for more 'club' activities like talks.

They meet out south of Basingstoke so a bit more dark sky and I find them really friendly and helpful.

Failing that - I'm around,,..

Mike

• 1 month later...

I'm based just south of Reading. Really keen to find a dark sky spot that I can go to with some other people, I've been told that over towards Hungerford is quite good? From looking at light pollution maps the further west you go the better!

Hi,

I'm in that area and just starting going along to the Basingstoke AS. The next meet I think is on Feb 9th, details at Basingstoke Astronomical Society

Regards

GG