SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Afocal Astrophotography Tutorial

george7378

I thought I'd make a little tutorial on how I capture and process pictures of the planets and the Moon afocally, so others can hopefully learn from it. This isn't a 'best way to capture afocal images' tutorial, because I am not really an expert, and I don't know what most of the tools and buttons in the processing programs do!!

This tutorial should hopefully let you get from this video frame:

jupiterframe.png

...to this processed and stacked image:

Jupiter141011final.png

Anyway, here we go.

Hardware:

- Sky-Watcher 250PX telescope (but any scope will do)

- Panasonic Lumix DMC-ZX1 compact camera (again, any other compact will be OK as long as it can capture video)

- Afocal bracket (there are a lot of these available - mine is a PH047 standard mount)

- Computer

Software:

- Registax (I used version 5 - RegiStax Download)

- RAD video tools (http://www.radgametools.com/down/Bink/RADTools.exe)

- GIMP (GIMP - Downloads)

Capturing:

OK, now we should be ready to take a video of the object you are imaging. This is why the technique will not work for dim objects - your camera has to be able to show it up on film. If you are filming a planet, the best way to capture the 10 or so seconds of video you need (assuming you don't have a tracking mount - if you do, you can take more) is to align the telescope with the planet, then attach the camera so that it is zoomed in sufficiently to see the details you want to capture. I would recommend using a wide field eyepiece, and using the camera's optical zoom to get closer.