Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

What math to start with?

Manok101

I'd suggest get to grips with trigonometry first and then move onto differentiation. Trig, as you probably know, is all to do with angles whereas differentiation will lead you into how fast things are moving etc.

This next bit is 1st/2nd year university physics, understand this lot and you will then be in a good position to at least understand what it is you're reading about cosmology/astronomy. May take a while to understand this first though! http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kepler's_laws_of_planetary_motion

Did I attend an unusual school? Is my memory defective?

I remember Newtons laws of motion, and Keplers 'oval orbits' from 'O' level physics.

Basic differentiation, and integration were also covered in 'O' level math(s).

All of these subjects were covered in more detail at 'A' level.

As I didn't study physics at University, I must have leant this at school. The math(s) I studied at university had nothing to do with astronomy.

Pssssst, by the way, we says Maths... :)

"Two great peoples separated by a common language."

I try to use UK terms and spellings when I post here, but one of the things I've discovered is that the spell checker seems to prefer American spelling on those words in which a 'u' is inserted in that is not used in the US, eg, behaviour vs behavior.

We Americans learned that the shortened version of the word 'mathematics' - which is a plural noun - is singular, 'math' while our British cousins never forgot that it was plural.

We say tomatoes you say tomato's etc etc :)

we say potato and they say potatoe (well, their ex vice president does, anyway) :(